PDA

View Full Version : Creating Campaigns In KeeperFX

Harmadone
June 4th, 2010, 16:11
Hello.
Im just starting out in the map making buisness, I just thought I should find some way to give to the community that have given so much back.

So I will create this thread to get some of the most basic and some more advanced answers for both Map Making in general (and in this case, Map Making in KeeperFX)

So my first question...
What is the difference between creating a bunch of maps in Dungeon Keeper
And creating a Campaign in KeeperFX

mefistotelis
June 4th, 2010, 16:27
In Dungeon Keeper, if you press "new game", a campaign starts which consists of maps MAP00001 to MAP00020, and has secrets MAP00100 to MAP00105. Original DK can't use campaigns with different map numbers or with files somewhere else than in "levels" folder. There's also no way to move the ensigns representing levels in land view, or make less/more levels than 20+6.

KeeperFX allows you to integrate any amount of campaigns with the game; every campaign has its own .CFG file which defines map numbers, folders and ensigns for it. If you want to make another campaign for KeeperFX, you just have to copy one of existing campaign config files and modify it so your maps will be used. The file for original campaign (keeporig.cfg) contains lots of comments, so it's easy to create new campaigns based on it.

friscmanseby
June 15th, 2012, 17:14
In Dungeon Keeper, if you press "new game", a campaign starts which consists of maps MAP00001 to MAP00020, and has secrets MAP00100 to MAP00105. Original DK can't use campaigns with different map numbers or with files somewhere else than in "levels" folder. There's also no way to move the ensigns representing levels in land view, or make less/more levels than 20+6.