PDA

View Full Version : Questions - Licensing / Copyright

Sire
June 9th, 2010, 02:57
I have a few questions regarding obtaining a license (and copyrights) and placing them onto a piece of work. Note that I have little experience in this subject, so please phase responses in peasant's terms instead of a professional.

The reason for this is for the purpose of knowledge, and as a resource I may be able to tap into in my later years.

1: Can copyrights and licences be issued to only one man, not to a group of people or corporations? (I assume this is possible because of author's novels and the like, but wish to clarify)

2: In the steps to creating products, do you licence / obtain copyright before the product is finalized, or after?

3: In the event that your original idea was stolen and copyrighted / licensed by a different person / group, can you obtain that idea back by citing evidence that you were the original creator?
(Note: I know there are rare events when two people think of something that is almost exactly the same thing, but for the sake of the question, throw out this possibility)

Thanks in advance to those that answer the above questions.

A New Room
June 9th, 2010, 11:21
1: Can copyrights and licences be issued to only one man, not to a group of people or corporations? (I assume this is possible because of author's novels and the like, but wish to clarify)

I'm pretty sure it is possible, though it may depend on what you are trying to copyright.

2: In the steps to creating products, do you licence / obtain copyright before the product is finalized, or after?

Well I imagine you should probably obtain a copy right somewhere before it is in the public domain.

3: In the event that your original idea was stolen and copyrighted / licensed by a different person / group, can you obtain that idea back by citing evidence that you were the original creator?