PDA

View Full Version : Can't install Dungeon Keeper



Dungeon_Master
October 12th, 2010, 07:23
Hello people, you may remember me I joined this forum... or the older one I dunno if it's an completely new server or not but I had to recreate my account here.

Now I have a new computer, just got it a couple of weeks ago and it's Windows 7.

Anyways I cannot install Dungeon Keeper 1. I place the disk in and the small box with options to open with shows up so I click on Run Setup. And with Windfows 7 that box that says allow permission for this to continue and I say yes.

Then nothing, nada. Nothing shows up ever, I go to computer then click it again the DK icon and the box comes up again and saying yes, however nothing shows up. The mouse shows it's waiting for something but then goes to normal.

Does this mean I cannot run Dungeon Keeper with Windows 7? Am I doomed forever not to play one of my oldest favorite computer games?

Or could it be related to the disc? Afterall I got this when I was 10, and I am 22 now. Looking at the disc there are quite a bit of scratches on it. (It's been with some other discs as well but I don't know how it got so scratched, but I used to play it alot).

Either way I think I am screwed, no Dungeon Keeper sold anymore and I have no idea how to use Ebay and it just seems risky for a faulty one.

A New Room
October 12th, 2010, 11:18
Can you look at the contents of the disc by going into My Computer, then right clicking your drive to open it? If you can try looking for the install exe, and clicking that. If that doesn't work then try copying the contents of the disc to your hard drive, then running the install there.

Other than that I'm afraid I don't have anything else to suggest, except giving KeeperFX (http://www.keeperklan.com/downloads.php?do=cat&id=7) a try. Since it is "quite a lot like" is actually Dungeon Keeper 1, and runs a lot better on Windows 7.

Dungeon_Master
October 12th, 2010, 11:33
The first part still won't work. I was going to do the second part but since I do have Windows 7 maybe I should give KeeperFX a try. So do I download the DK 37 patches along with the full verison? (Patch a,b and c)

A New Room
October 12th, 2010, 12:50
Download KeeperFX 0.37 Complete, 0.37a, 0.37b, 0.37c Patchs. Extract them in that order, then if all goes right play DK. :)

If you have any other problems consult the included keeperfx_readme, and look for the Troubleshooting section.

DragonsLover
October 12th, 2010, 12:54
In fact, you don't need to install patch 0.37a and 0.37b. Only version 0.37c is sufficient.

Dungeon_Master
October 21st, 2010, 14:10
Okay hope people will still be reading this because I need help still.

Alright I finally got around to downloading Keeperfx and after waiting 2 hours I extracted the files and placed them into my Documents. Now I will try to explain this to the best I can. When looking at it all the files were seperate, there were folders for DK all over the place. I tried going into the Keeper.exe and it loaded, sort of to where it looked like some graphic messed up (No it has nothing to do with my graphics card, I can play Sims 3 and GTA IV very fine on this computer). But then it went to the desktop and said nothing, just got out of it.

So I created a folder called Dungeon Keeper and placed all the DK related files and folders into the folder. Went into it, would flash some graphic mess up but then go to normakl. I was able to go to the main menu and select maps to play, however anytime I clicked a map it would almost seem to go to a loading screen then exit out of it and go to the desktop with no message.

I don't know what's going on or why, but what am I doing wrong? Anyone know? Maybe it has to do with the folders but I placed them all in the DK folder. Unless the Keeper.exe is supposed to go in a different folder. (The install instructions wasn't too clear, just said decompress wherever). Please help


Edit: Rereading the readme (And since I do have Windows 7) maybe it's this part that I need to deal with: Q: Game stops when loading a map. LOG file says:
Error: setup_screen_mode: Unable to setup screen resolution
MODE_640_400_8 (mode 10)
A: The problem is that your drivers can't support 640x400 mode.
Change the resolution config lines in KEEPERFX.CFG into:
FRONTEND_RES=MODE_640_480_8 MODE_640_480_8 MODE_640_480_8
INGAME_RES=MODE_640_480_8

So I went into my DK folder and looked for a file called Keeperfx.cfg

However I came to another problem, the file I try to open says Window can't open it, because I guess I don't have whatever it is needed to open it. What do I need to open thiis file with and edit the resolution thing to find out if it will work? (I do have Notepad, Word etc if I can do that). It also says the internet will open it up with the right thing or whatever,

So what should I try to open it with or is this not the problem? (I should have left DK in the case. Instead it was with a bunch of other discs, they were safe with a lid but still).

A New Room
October 21st, 2010, 14:27
Just opening it in Notepad should work, make your changes to the Keeperfx.cfg then save it. Then it should work :)

Dungeon_Master
October 21st, 2010, 14:38
I did it! It works now I loaded a map and it actually loaded! Even thought its currently 12:37am right now I am going to test it out more to make sure everything's good, but hopefully I can finally have Dungeon Keeper again.

Luke Healy
April 12th, 2012, 09:38
Hi guys. I'm having the same problem here with windows 7 home premium. I've just downloaded 0.40 (cos i couldn't get the earlier ones). Put the files from the cd onto my desktop, followed the instructions. Click start game, up comes:

Setting up game failed.
This error in 'LbBullfrogMain' makes the program unable to continue.
See 'keeperfx.log' for details.

I've opened the file in Notepad. It reads:

Dungeon Keeper FX ver 0.4.0.386 (standard release)
LOG CREATED @ 17:19:01 12-04-2012

Sync: LbMouseChangeMoveRatio: New ratio 256x256
Sync: CPU GenuineIntel type 0 family 6 model 7 stepping 2 features afebfbff
Sync: PhysicalMemory 32
Sync: Memory-demanding features enabled.
Warning: Config file "keeperfx.cfg" doesn't exist or is too small.
Error: setup_game: Configuration load error.
Error: In source LbBullfrogMain:
2 - Setting up game failed.

The file "keeperfx.cfg" is empty. Complete blank screen.
None of the troubleshoot tips have anything to help with this.

Any ideas?

DragonsLover
April 13th, 2012, 05:48
Reinstall the game. Did you receive an error message from the launcher?

Luke Healy
April 13th, 2012, 12:40
Dungeon keeper, or keeperfx? when i first open the launcher, a pop up says: 'Image file is not of type 17.' if that helps.
the keeper95 application makes the computer think for a bit, then nothing. the keeperfx launcher comes up with the messages as above.

DragonsLover
April 15th, 2012, 04:09
Hmmm, that's weird. Well, try filling the KeeperFX.cfg file with the data below:


; Path to the DK files. Usually leaving it as "./" will work.
INSTALL_PATH=./
; How many of the game files are on disk; irrelevant option.
INSTALL_TYPE=MAX
; Language definition; sets options for displaying texts.
LANGUAGE=ENG
; Keyboard definition; irrelevant.
KEYBOARD=101
; File format in which screenshots are written; BMP or HSI.
SCREENSHOT=BMP
; Three frontend resolutions: failsafe, movies and menu resolution.
FRONTEND_RES=640x480x32 640x480x32 640x480x32
;Original DK resolutions were FRONTEND_RES=MODEx320x200x8 MODEx320x200x8 MODEx640x480x8
; List of in-game resolutions. ALT+R will switch between them.
INGAME_RES=640x480x32 1024x768x32
;Original DK resolutions were INGAME_RES=MODEx320x200x8 MODEx640x400x8
; Mouse pointer movement speed; 100 percent means normal OS speed
POINTER_SENSITIVITY=100
; Censorship - originally was ON only if language is german.
CENSORSHIP = OFF

Then start the game.

Luke Healy
April 15th, 2012, 12:48
all right, now we're getting somewhere!
got as far as the title screen, blacked out, then froze.
checked the log, more than last time.

here's the bad stuff:
Warning: File "startup_fx.pal" doesn't exist or is too small.
Error: init_bitmap_screen: Couldn't load palette file for KeeperFX Splash screen
Sync: setup_game: startup_fx image skipped
Error: play_smacker_file: Smacker play error
Warning: File "loading_640.pal" doesn't exist or is too small.
Error: init_bitmap_screen: Couldn't load palette file for Loading Image screen
Error: LbDataLoadAll: Can't load file "data\palette.dat"
Error: initial_setup: Unable to load game_load_files
Error: In source LbBullfrogMain:
2 - Setting up game failed.

all the files in the fxdata folder are empty, as the is palette.dat file.

DragonsLover
April 17th, 2012, 01:19
Oh, I've read you copied the files from the CD to your hard drive. Please reinstall, but this time, using the CD. NOT from the hard drive.

The desktop is located into your "user account" and well, it's a bad idea to put the files there. Use a simple path, like a CD path.

Luke Healy
April 17th, 2012, 12:51
Do you mean install as in use the keeperfx launcher, or actually try and install it using the setup program on the disc?
Just tried both. Installer (using the CD path) same result as last time, same error messages.
The disc method got as far as asking if i want the program to run on my computer, thought for a bit then nothing.

DragonsLover
April 18th, 2012, 04:29
If you want to install KeeperFX, you must run the launcher, and the launcher only. Otherwise, if you wanna play the original DK game, you must use the Setup.

But since you tried and still got the same errors, I don't really know. Do you have the original CD? Try using a CD image file emulated under a CD emulator like Daemon Tools Lite. If it solves the problem, then good. If it's not, then that's weird. It's supposed to work properly since it worked for a lot of people. Only Mefisto would know about that since he made the launcher, but he's not very available actually. I can only leave him a message if you want.

Luke Healy
April 19th, 2012, 09:14
I have the original cd plus all the stuff that came in the box. I'm really only interested in playing the original game. I came on here because I was told that this might be a solution. I could be doing something wrong and not even know it, since I'm not too computer savvy. If you could contact him for me that'd be a big help. I'd really like this to work, its an awesome game, worth playing.

DragonsLover
April 20th, 2012, 04:08
PM sent. Again, I'd like to help you, but that's something I have no idea why it doesn't work.

Luke Healy
April 20th, 2012, 08:11
I've been told it works with windows 7 professional (due to its ability to use XP compatability), but dont really feel like paying $220 for the upgrade.

DragonsLover
April 25th, 2012, 00:55
Check over here (http://keeperklan.com/threads/2615-KeeperFX-0-40-launcher-update)

Luke Healy
May 1st, 2012, 12:31
well, tried it and it didn't work. unless i'm doing something wrong.