PDA

View Full Version : Workshop



Airandius
February 2nd, 2011, 16:02
Just wondering which 'generation' you are using for DK War for the Overlord.
Are you guys going with the workshop of DK1 or DK2?

Mothrayas
February 2nd, 2011, 16:04
Nothing confirmed yet, although there's been a poll on this before. (see here (http://www.keeperklan.com/threads/995-Workshop-Poll))

Poll result: both.

kyle
February 2nd, 2011, 16:12
What we have chosen is a automatic routine of constructing the traps, unless the player builds a trap the workshop then focuses on that, once its met its demand it goes back to where it was in the list of traps it constructs usually.

Airandius
February 2nd, 2011, 16:41
What about selling? Does it produce traps for free which can be sold for profit like in DK1? Does it produce but cost money? Can you not sell traps at all.

I kind found it gamebreaking that a workshop could produce money. You can litterally wall yourself in and keep training your units to level 10.

---------- Post added at 17:41 ---------- Previous post was at 17:40 ----------

What about selling? Does it produce traps for free which can be sold for profit like in DK1? Does it produce but cost money? Can you not sell traps at all.

I kind found it gamebreaking that a workshop could produce money. You can litterally wall yourself in and keep training your units to level 10.

Mothrayas
February 2nd, 2011, 16:51
I know a simple solution for the selling traps thing: make traps cost a small amount of gold. And then when you sell the same traps, you will only get the same small amount of gold back, no more. That way you can't abuse infinitely selling traps.

Aval
February 2nd, 2011, 17:46
I don't think it's particularly game breaking. Unless you sink a ridiculous number of units into workshoppery you're not going to be able to sustain much of a dungeon on it alone.

Airandius
February 2nd, 2011, 19:09
I pretty much made a selfsustaining dungeon on every map that has the workshop room. It's really easy and I'm pretty sure it breaks the game when you can wall yourself in and train all your units till level 10. Personally this game should be more fast paced than that.

I liked what Mothrayas suggested. That way you can't make a profit. Thus you need to find gold and most likely combar your enemies will gathering.

kyle
February 2nd, 2011, 19:38
I also like what mothrayas suggested. I want you to keep in mind this game is as fast paced as you play it, some players like to play normally and build there dungeon how they want to, if someone walls themselves in and sells traps all day to sustain their dungeon then they are not playing it right.

Metal Gear Rex
February 2nd, 2011, 19:52
I don't think it's particularly game breaking. Unless you sink a ridiculous number of units into workshoppery you're not going to be able to sustain much of a dungeon on it alone.

Even if it is possible, that also means it is an exploit.


I know a simple solution for the selling traps thing: make traps cost a small amount of gold. And then when you sell the same traps, you will only get the same small amount of gold back, no more. That way you can't abuse infinitely selling traps.

Yes.

Aval
February 4th, 2011, 01:04
My point is that if you are able to do it you would have already won or you're crippling yourself in other areas. But yeah Mothrayas is right.

Galf1
May 16th, 2011, 20:22
There is actually a problem with the automatic production of traps and doors, but it is dependent on whether or not you have traps drain mana in order to stay active or not. If you do then you may want to simply go with DK2's version only because workshops only have a limited amount of space for crates. Say you want to place a lightning trap, but you have a bunch of doors and other traps filling your workshop, and you don't want to have any more mana drain than the additional lightning trap, nor do you have anywhere to place any doors, so what do you do? The answer is the unintuitive placing one of the traps, ordering a lightning trap, waiting for the unwanted trap to be activated, then selling that trap. While this may not bother veterans of the games, since that's how it worked in DK1, for a new player the answer is not so obvious. Plus if you want actual strategy to play into multiplayer then this may frustrate players who want very specific trap setups and carefully balanced mana drain.

Mothrayas
May 16th, 2011, 22:22
Say you want to place a lightning trap, but you have a bunch of doors and other traps filling your workshop, and you don't want to have any more mana drain than the additional lightning trap, nor do you have anywhere to place any doors, so what do you do? The answer is the unintuitive placing one of the traps, ordering a lightning trap, waiting for the unwanted trap to be activated, then selling that trap.

...or you just sell the trap right away, since it doesn't matter to the game whether the trap you're selling is activated or not.

Dizzi
May 16th, 2011, 22:55
The workshop will be automated either random or in order. (no tile requirements to produce better traps) But, it will also be queue based. The latest thing you build will be highest priority. Either that or they get put in a queue.
When things are half produced I would assume they get a "pause" type of effect so the production time isn't reset if it was half way in production.
There will also need to be a pause button. Kinda like putting workshop offline. This is so automatic production can be paused or if you if u don't want your creatures to craft.
tbh, all rooms should have a "keep out" button. Maybe you convert an enemy room but you don't want your creatures to use it but you don't want to sell it. Or maybe you have a training room and you don't want anyone to use it. I know you can build doors but maybe you built your dungeon so that they must walk past the training room.

Galf1
May 17th, 2011, 00:08
The workshop will be automated either random or in order. (no tile requirements to produce better traps) But, it will also be queue based. The latest thing you build will be highest priority. Either that or they get put in a queue.
When things are half produced I would assume they get a "pause" type of effect so the production time isn't reset if it was half way in production.
There will also need to be a pause button. Kinda like putting workshop offline. This is so automatic production can be paused or if you if u don't want your creatures to craft.
tbh, all rooms should have a "keep out" button. Maybe you convert an enemy room but you don't want your creatures to use it but you don't want to sell it. Or maybe you have a training room and you don't want anyone to use it. I know you can build doors but maybe you built your dungeon so that they must walk past the training room.

If this is the case then I would suggest an option attached to the workshop that allows you to turn automated production on or off with the default being off, probably on a sign or other obvious contraption like the sign in the DK2 casino. Description from the announcer could go like "You can order your minions to only produce contraptions at your direction, or allow them to build whatever they like. Your minions will still respond promptly to your work orders but will keep busy when you have none. Though be mindful, as they will continue to build until your workshop is full, preventing them from filling your own orders until more space is provided". Either that or you can have a way to set what your workshops are allowed to produce, such as "can only produce spike traps, fear traps, and braced doors".

What do you mean by "(no tile requirements to produce better traps)"? The problem I pointed out was space available in a workshop and the unintuitive way of freeing up space other than expanding your workshop, not that you needed a certain size workshop before you can make higher tech traps/doors. Are you implying that there will not be limited space in workshops for door/trap crates? If so I can see that becoming not only a balance problem, but possibly a crashing problem if left going to long in a single game.

Thanks for your feedback. :)

Dizzi
May 17th, 2011, 01:23
If this is the case then I would suggest an option attached to the workshop that allows you to turn automated production on or off
Some sort of control like that will do.


What do you mean by "(no tile requirements to produce better traps)"?
Dk1 required big workshops to produce better traps/doors. We are not going to have that requirement.

Galf1
May 17th, 2011, 01:39
Dk1 required big workshops to produce better traps/doors. We are not going to have that requirement.
Ah, never encountered that, just the space problem, thanks for clearing that up.

Thanks for your response. :)