PDA

View Full Version : Help, Win 7 "Stage Select" Frame is broken



MiniIgor
February 2nd, 2011, 16:36
Hello everyone

As it says in the title, in the stage select part, the frame is broken. it intersects with the main screen, like it is overlaping. In the middle there is a invisible frame that moves along with the corners.

Can anyone help with this?

Otherwise I am very happy with this mod!

Oh, and the colors in the Menus are totaly crazy, is there a solution for that?

Thanks

Many Hugs, your Mini Igor

Ogre
February 2nd, 2011, 17:39
Sounds like you have some problems with the resolutions maybe?

jomalin
February 2nd, 2011, 18:44
The majority of KeeperFX new users have got problems with graphics because they don't have well configured the "keeperfx.cfg" file.

mefistotelis, I think it will be good to put a sticky post with title "KeeperFX graphics issues" or something similar, explaining the most frequently cases, like that the bits per channel must be "x32" for example in FRONTEND_RES and INGAME_RES lines if they are using Win7 or Vista. Or adding this to the KeeperFX FAQ.
Will be good a graphics configuration autodetection code, some time ago in a post, the developper P_Hansson said that this will be implemented in a future... but I know this is not easy at the moment

Ogre
February 2nd, 2011, 18:48
At the end where you can download KeeperFX theres a line "Read README file before using any of the programs!" Though, imo, kind of hidden. That would seem to be the problem mostly, people don't read the Readme. I've done the same mistake :P

DragonsLover
February 2nd, 2011, 19:02
A typical case of RTFM... On DK.net, it's the same thing. *Sigh*

MiniIgor
February 2nd, 2011, 19:19
I did everything that was wirten in the ReadMe.

There are people in this world who can read you know so I do not bother others uncalled for.

I set it to 256 colors and 640x480 in the options and my .cfg looks like this.


; Path to the DK files. Usually leaving it as "./" will work.
INSTALL_PATH=./
; How many of the game files are on disk; irrelevant option.
INSTALL_TYPE=MAX
; Language definition; sets options for displaying texts.
LANGUAGE=ENG
; Keyboard definition; irrelevant.
KEYBOARD=101
; File format in which screenshots are written; BMP or HSI.
SCREENSHOT=BMP
; Three frontend resolutions: failsafe, movies and menu resolution.
FRONTEND_RES=640x480x8 640x480x8 640x480x8
; List of in-game resolutions. ALT+R will switch between them.
INGAME_RES=640x480x8
; Mouse pointer movement speed; 100 percent means normal OS speed
POINTER_SENSITIVITY=100
; Censorship - originally was ON only if language is german.
CENSORSHIP = OFF


This is what it said in the readme, is there anything I did wrong?

jomalin
February 2nd, 2011, 19:29
As I said, you must use "x32" instead of "x8" in FRONTEND_RES and INGAME_RES

MiniIgor
February 2nd, 2011, 19:34
Ah, behind the 640x480x32?

Ok I'l try that!

---------- Post added at 20:34 ---------- Previous post was at 20:32 ----------

Thanks, that worked very well!

I'll wirte this in my readme.

On another Topic, is it possibly to use the D3D Options with this KeeperFX? Would be great

jomalin
February 2nd, 2011, 22:05
A typical case of RTFM... On DK.net, it's the same thing. *Sigh*

RTFM?

A New Room
February 2nd, 2011, 22:11
lOn another Topic, is it possibly to use the D3D Options with this KeeperFX?

As far as I know it isn't.


RTFM?


Read The F**king ME/Manual, I think...

DragonsLover
February 4th, 2011, 01:17
Yes, RTFM = Read the F***ing Manual, but in our case, it should be RTFR.

No offense btw. It's just a bit annoying.