PDA

View Full Version : How does it work? And why is it slow?

HSovieticus
February 3rd, 2011, 22:35
First off, let me say that I am not a programmer, not yet anyway. But I do like math and I am planning to take computer programming courses at my local college. I have done some scripting in Victoria 2 and Adobe Flash, I've made some buildings for SimCity, and I am currently doing some 3d modeling for Fallout 3. Anyway, Dungeon Keeper is my all-time favourite game, and I am interested in how this remake works.

As I understand it, the original executable has been converted into a dll file which is accessed by the new exe whenever it needs to. From there, the original game is being incrementally rewritten. Is the new code also in the dll file, or is it located somewhere else?

I'm also wondering how the author got the game to work in windows 7. I downloaded the very first release and tried it out, but it didn't work, so I'm guessing that certain parts of the original game had to be rewritten for it to run on win 7. What needed to be done, exactly? And was the process similar to how one would create a simple compatibility patch to make the original game files work on win 7?

I'm also wondering why the game is so slow. I have a very new and expensive computer which I built myself, but the game can run slower than any of the new games I've played on it. Why is this? And what needs to be done or could be done to make it run faster?

EDIT: seems like switching to 32bit mode has sped up the game somewhat. Feels like it did all those years ago.

p_hansson
February 3rd, 2011, 22:52
The new code is in the executable, the old code in the DLL. For an exact explanation, see: http://keeper.lubie.org/other_docs/change_exe_to_dll.htm

Some of parts the game are changed, in particular the the graphics output portion is changed to SDL (www.libsdl.org) from earlier DirectDraw. These things could make KeeperFX work where DK Gold doesn't, and unfortunately also the reverse.