PDA

View Full Version : Legitimacy of Keeper FX

Teemu Milto
April 14th, 2011, 14:41
How is Keeper FX legal? It contains the full original campaign free of charge, unlike patches that require the purchase of a legal copy in order to work.

I did buy Dungeon Keeper Collector's Edition on Ebay for 35 £ yesterday, but also downloaded Keeper FX to see what it is about. I try to avoid piracy at all costs.

Otherwise I know how it goes. Your enemies dig out something to get you in trouble for an ulterior motive. For example, if I was a famous professor of sociology in an reseach institute, and someone wanted to get me fired, they would only have to tell the press how I have illegal copies on my hard drive. I would be treated as a pirate mastermind. Let's assume that at the same time there was an incident, where a group of terrorists bombed the subway and had a hard drive full of illegal copies of subway textbooks. What a mess!

Skyman
April 14th, 2011, 15:04
Wether it is legal or not we can safely assume that any DK1 fans have bought the game back then. I bought it twice :P

mefistotelis
April 14th, 2011, 15:49
Here's an answer I wrote a few months ago to an e-mail about legal issues of KeeperFX:

KeeperFX, as it, is free and open-source.

The data files are shipped with KeeperFX CCP - which contains data copyrighted by Bullfrog (now EA), but also files created by other people (makers of the unofficial campaigns), to which no license information was attached.

I consider the status of KeeperFX to be quite simple - it's just an open-source project. It does use some of the original binary data, but this will change over time, making its status completely clear. It does not use so-called "clean-room reverse-engineering", but the code is surely very different from original implementation. In my country (Poland) doing what I did here is legal.