PDA

View Full Version : Reversing CREATURE_AVAILABLE causes Crash



Zyraen
June 5th, 2011, 10:28
I was just testing a level that involves use of the following Script.

IF(PLAYER1,BARRACKS > 0)
MAX_CREATURES(PLAYER1,35)
CREATURE_AVAILABLE(PLAYER1,GIANT,1,0)
CREATURE_AVAILABLE(PLAYER1,BARBARIAN,1,0)
CREATURE_AVAILABLE(PLAYER1,ARCHER,1,0)
ENDIF

Note that earlier, Player1 did have these 3 Creatures Available,
ie CREATURE_AVAILABLE(PLAYER1,GIANT,1,1) etc.

It is basically an attempt to stop the Player1 from receiving these inferior creatures after they have the Barracks, which should attract more powerful Melee Creatures, and also pushing up his Creature Limit.

Any advice / help would be most appreciated, thank you!

mefistotelis
June 5th, 2011, 13:09
Similar code is used in original campaign map00003 and it does work. Please provide details about map and the way of crash. Log or saved game would also be nice.

Zyraen
June 5th, 2011, 14:59
Thanks for the tip :) I did a Show_Information on the 2 segments that I thought could be giving problems, both came and went without Crashing the Game. So its not those.

Then I saw your post and did a KeeperFX_Debug run, the last few lines of the .log are as follows (I have attached the Log file here)
Sync: process_computer_player2: Starting for player 1
Sync: task_dig_to_gold: Starting
Sync: task_check_room_dug: Starting
Sync: process_computer_player2: Starting for player 2
Sync: task_dig_to_gold: Starting

So it looks like.. dig to gold caused a crash? o.O
BTW this was done using an edited version of Level15 Moonbrush Wood.
I'm basically testing the AI to see how it functions managing an All Hero Cast of Creatures etc and researching upwards to gain other Units.

The Save Game and Log have been attached.785
Hope this helps ^^;;

PS : there is a Reveal Map in your Library, I keep it so that I can see what's going on Elsewhere, especially if the Enemy Player is progressing well with his training etc.

mefistotelis
June 5th, 2011, 15:17
This problem is fixed in v0.39; you should download the latest version and latest patch.

Zyraen
June 5th, 2011, 19:11
That's the version I'm using. 0.39 Full, patched with 0.39a.
from http://keeper.lubie.org/html/dk_keeperfx_dwnld.php

Is that right?

BTW, It never crashed through the original campaign and in Deeper Dungeons.

mefistotelis
June 5th, 2011, 20:02
That's the version I'm using. 0.39 Full, patched with 0.39a.

The log you've attached:

Dungeon Keeper FX ver 0.3.8.322 (debug release)
LOG CREATED @ 21:48:45 05-06-2011

Make sure you really have 0.39a, which shows

Dungeon Keeper FX ver 0.3.9.351 (debug release)

Note that saves from old version may crash in new one and it it doesn't mean there's an error.

Zyraen
June 7th, 2011, 02:22
Thank you for the patience. I went back and did a check on my files, and it seems that my main computer is indeed running a KeeperFX 0.38, probably I installed it just somewhat earlier than on the other computer. Regardless, the game now works seamlessly :)

Thank you and sorry trouble.
( although the, enemy Lightning and two-pronged attack really PWNed me lol... )