PDA

View Full Version : How to install custom campaigns

DemureGirl
September 20th, 2017, 18:07
Hello!

Long time DK2 player looking to spicing up their game.

I'm a complete noob at any kind of custom content and can't figure out for the life of me how to get custom campaigns to show up in my game.

Could anyone offer some advice? :)

DensonJ
September 20th, 2017, 19:16
Well, it's not too hard really. You must locate your DK2 installation directory. If it's original, then it'll be under C:\Program Files OR C:\Program Files (x86) on a 64-bit Windows system. If it's GoG then I think it's under C:\GOG Games. Anyway, once you locate your DK2 installation directory then any custom add-ons are going under the Data directory in the indicated locations (below).
Map Files (kwd/kld) go under Data\Editor\Maps
Thumbnails (if supplied) go under Data\Editor\Maps\Thumbnails
Message files (if supplied) go under Data\Text\Default

Hope this helps.

- Jim D.

DemureGirl
September 20th, 2017, 19:34
Hmm... so I am on the right track. I've done that but I still can't find any trace of it in game.

My DK2 stuff (gog) is on the D drive, would that be an issue?

DensonJ
September 20th, 2017, 19:37
Is the custom map downloaded from this site? Or one you made yourself?
If it's from this site (or another site even) what is the map name?
It doesn't matter that it's on the D: drive.

DemureGirl
September 20th, 2017, 20:29
Yup, custom from this site.
I believe it's called Rise of Nemesis or something like that? It's a DK1 recreate

YourMaster
September 20th, 2017, 21:14
Yup, custom from this site.
I believe it's called Rise of Nemesis or something like that? It's a DK1 recreate

This one (https://keeperklan.com/downloads.php?do=file&id=126). Becoming of Nemesis.

DemureGirl
September 20th, 2017, 21:24
That's the one!

YourMaster
September 20th, 2017, 21:27
I think for that one just click the shortcut of the map you want to play in \1.7 Shortcuts\GOG\

DensonJ
September 20th, 2017, 22:14