PDA

View Full Version : Quake III Arena



Necror
February 21st, 2010, 17:15
Quake III Arena
making a mod + map

I'm going to use textures from Natural born keeper because my current ones are low res and poorly lighted
if anyone can make quake player models, i'll add them

new ideas are welcome

here's a video showing what i currently have
HmesbxU-PVM

Hapuga
February 21st, 2010, 20:51
LOL OUTSTANDING =D

Sire
February 21st, 2010, 21:11
Interesting.

I look forward to the rest of this.

The problem is, I only seen Quake III arena once at my school. I guess I gotta find a copy of it somewhere so I can play this awesome work. :D

Pizu
February 21st, 2010, 22:00
I don't really get what your aiming at. A random shooter with DK themed? c'mon that sound stupid. I really dont get you on this one :>

A New Room
February 21st, 2010, 22:45
I must admit I too am puzzled. Maybe I need to have played Quake 3 to understand it. The only thing I do know about it is that Richard Ridings (Mentor in both DK games) did voice work on it :/

Tintwo
February 22nd, 2010, 05:15
It's fun !
Nice work !

My idea to add to your mod is - if it's possible - to put another skin on Q3 weapons :D (because a railgun-skin in a dungeon is weird).

For example :
- Grenade Launcher : put another skin like a demon head (to shot organic splash grenade like the 4th demon spawn spell)
- Rocket Launcher : shot fireballs (with a wizard magic wand skin)

It will be terrific !

Necror
February 22nd, 2010, 18:07
i already did the grenade before you told me and i've got new flags but i can't get the alpha working

http://img85.imageshack.us/img85/4378/granaatvlag.png

Necror
February 22nd, 2010, 18:20
ow right for the guys who didn't get the game
in the video i was on the blue team and i needed to get the red flag and return it to my own base to score

A New Room
February 23rd, 2010, 01:44
The red splat on the flag looks a bit weird. I think if you added a symbol (I know a place to get high quality versions of both DK symbols. :)) to the flag it would look better. I don't really know very much about mapmaking in Quake 3 so I apologise if what I'm saying sounds stupid. :p

Necror
February 23rd, 2010, 20:03
i hate wasting my time at school only progress i made today was changing the mouse in the menu

Necror
February 24th, 2010, 14:02
that logo is a bit better than the one i quickly did in paint







tried and works in open arena (free version of quake 3)
download here (http://openarena.ws/download.php?list.29)

A New Room
February 24th, 2010, 20:26
that logo is a bit better than the one i quickly did in paint

Yay for quick icons done in Illustrator! :D

though it still looks wrong to me :/

PM me if you want anything about it changed.

Pizu
February 25th, 2010, 09:16
i myself have done some modding with Jedi Knight III: Jedi Academy. It also runs on the Q3 engine. My current project is to import EVERYthing from Jedi Knight II(also Q3) to Jedi Knight III. :) even the single player maps.

still. i get your idea a little more now. still its a little weird having a Dungeon Keeper Themed Shooter :p On the other hand. Its an epic classic game which rocks everyone's panties off. So it would be cool when you finished this, we, as a DK communitiy could play it togheter :p

natchoguy
February 25th, 2010, 19:46
Did you make the models your self?

Necror
February 25th, 2010, 19:49
no the ghost is modified by me and the other 2 i downloaded

and if you mean the grenade and flag my bro did them

natchoguy
February 25th, 2010, 19:51
I thought that someone could have replaced Blutonium for a while

Metal Gear Rex
February 25th, 2010, 19:56
I thought that someone could have replaced Blutonium for a while

The quality of the overall meshes and stuff for this game is quite worthless compared to bluto's work.

It isn't that bad, probably better than DK2's, but pretty much it is in comparison to bluto that they aren't much.

Necror
February 25th, 2010, 20:02
Blutonium you mean this stuff?
i don't think quake supports that.
anyway im still busy making a new version with the NBK textures the ones in the video are cnp from screenshots

oh Blutonium is a guy sry didn't know

A New Room
February 25th, 2010, 20:12
Blutonium you mean this stuff?
i don't think quake supports that.

I don't think any game can really support over a million polys :p

Necror
February 25th, 2010, 20:15
the map itself is very low poly atm (its made in google sketshup)

Necror
February 27th, 2010, 12:31
gona add a roof now

A New Room
February 27th, 2010, 12:44
Where is proof of this roof?

Necror
February 28th, 2010, 19:51
here's a screenshot of the walls with nbk textures

A New Room
February 28th, 2010, 20:08
I suppose that is indeed proof... -.-

Looks quite good, though the indent in the wall looks a bit odd with that texture.

Sire
February 28th, 2010, 20:12
I really look foward to seeing the mod fully implemented with NBK graphics. Makes me want to get it myself, yet I would like to get myself a laptop or a PC before that happens...

Also, excellent work! :D:):p

Necror
February 28th, 2010, 20:13
if anyone wants the old version i can upload it

tomorrow im of to bed now bye

Tassadar44
March 12th, 2010, 15:51
where can I find the NBK textures? I want to make an dungeon keeeper mod for UT2k4, but I can't find the right textures. I've search already, but in google and here I can't find any DK textures.

Necror
March 16th, 2010, 17:37
download Nbk and go to data\resources\textures there they are

i've got ut 04 the official editor looks quite complicated
the one i use for quake is way easier

Tassadar44
March 16th, 2010, 17:45
Thanks. I've search the textures here in the forum:D

And the UT editor is a bit complicated, yes. But I've found a (german) forum with tutorials and great help.
But I will install quake3 soon. Maybe I make also maps for quake 3 soon.
But first the UT2004 map.

Tassadar44
March 16th, 2010, 17:55
But I have another problem:
I have download the demo here in the forum.
But there is no Ressources folder:(

Monsterbaby
March 16th, 2010, 19:06
Hehe the idea is funny! Eventhough I am not into FPS.


If you need grenades and such done in 3d, I can try fix something for you in either Zbrush or 3D Std. Max.

But only fairly small stuff. I don't have time right now to create an entire character and to rig it.

Necror
March 16th, 2010, 19:16
yeah i use the Wfto textures in that folder
wfto just looks like a better version of nbk i don't see what makes it an other game

Tassadar44
March 16th, 2010, 23:01
So I've installed quake 3, but there isn't a editor. I search tomorrow, but maybe I missed the editor in the folders.
gn8

natchoguy
March 16th, 2010, 23:58
Hmm... I saw your name somewhere (in another forum website)

Necror
March 17th, 2010, 11:38
its not an official editor i use GTK Radiant

and for 3d i use sketchup

Monsterbaby
March 17th, 2010, 16:23
You should try use some other program for your 3D models. Zbrush, Maya, Blender, or even 3D Studio Max.

As I previous said if you want something done in 3d, I can try have a go at it in 3D Studio Max - Since I haven't got the hang of Zbrush yet :P (I'm such a Blutonium wannabe <3<3)

Tassadar44
March 17th, 2010, 16:57
Another 3d programm is milk shape. I learn to use it currently.

Monsterbaby
March 17th, 2010, 20:52
Cool didn't knew that one. Is it any different from the other? I know maya and 3dmax are a bit simular, while Zbrush stands out on its own I think.

Tassadar44
March 17th, 2010, 20:57
I only know milkshape, and I don't know mush about it. I only know it is a 3d programm and I use ist for 3d models for UT2004.

Necror
March 19th, 2010, 22:05
i use milkshape to convert stuff as a 3d program its realy simple
its just the map i did in sketchup
the flag and grenade my bro did in 3ds

a friend told me blender finaly has a new good interface (still in beta)
i might get that

Necror
April 11th, 2010, 08:51
It will propably never get finished

Necror
April 13th, 2010, 15:58
I just restarted becouse im done playing assasins creed and i don't know what to play now.

Tassadar44
April 13th, 2010, 20:25
it's often that you think you will never get finished^^
And my UT DK map. It's to complicated for me at this moment.
I will later try it again.

Necror
April 14th, 2010, 09:17
do you already have somthing from your map
if so show me a bit
if not change to quake III
having more then 1 map will make the mod way better

Tassadar44
April 14th, 2010, 14:40
I already have something, but I can't show it. The textures from NBK dont work good enough for UT2k4 and I have only the half of the map.

Maybe I can make some quake 3 DK maps, but I don't find the editor in the internet.

Necror
April 14th, 2010, 16:13
what do you mean they don't work good enough
what others do you use?
here's editor.
http://www.qeradiant.com/cgi-bin/trac.cgi

Tassadar44
April 14th, 2010, 20:20
I only use the textures of NBK. And I mean with "not good enough" that the textures are so out of focus and so it dont looks good.

How you learn to use the editor or know you any tutorials?

Necror
April 15th, 2010, 09:29
i learned GTK by my self.

Tassadar44
April 15th, 2010, 11:41
Ok, I will try the same. I will post here when I learn to use it.

Skaruts
June 2nd, 2010, 16:08
That looks cool. The walls are a bit too high, but I think that's ok since this seems to be made for multiplayer gamplay, which usualy justifies certain adjustments.
But looks cool indeed. :D

Necror
June 20th, 2010, 17:34
My quake III stopped working so i moved to Open Arena
they have a game mode where you have to shoot a thing.
I'll just replace the model of the thing with a heart and I'll have a more dungeon keeper style game mode

Necror
June 25th, 2010, 20:09
just made a moddb page for my map
It is currently awaiting authorisation
so possibly you can't enter yet
http://www.moddb.com/mods/quake-keeper

edit:checked again now its authorised.

Necror
July 1st, 2010, 14:43
I'm nearly finished with the map if anyone wants to make an other map you can send him to me
this is a good size for a 3vs3 map
http://img594.imageshack.us/img594/3356/smallmap.png




also, can this treat be moved to Other remakes

Edit: I started making eversmile I'll do a campaign and in the end you'll have tofight the avatar

Necror
July 21st, 2010, 20:40
yay I've got working chickens, you even explode when you touch them.