Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 26

Thread: Dungeon in Source Engine (experimental)

  
  1. #1
    Fly
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Paradise City
    Posts
    75

    Default Dungeon in Source Engine (experimental)

    Been working on this for the last 3 days. I'm using DK's default tiles for the textures, which doesn't make it much fancy, but still surprised me that it doesn't look that bad.

    The map is still very rough, there's no heart (need to model one), there's no doors (hidden from compile so that I could move freely) and... no chickens...

    There's still a whole lot of thigs to be done. But so far so good.


  2. #2
    Mistress kyle's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    936
    Gamer IDs

    Gamertag: FOG I Kyle PSN ID: CreamedCustard Steam ID: kylemotherwell

    Default Re: Dungeon in Source Engine (experimental)

    That's pretty cool, I wonder if you can take models from DKII and use them for the enemy's.

  3. #3
    Fly
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Paradise City
    Posts
    75

    Default Re: Dungeon in Source Engine (experimental)

    Nah this is for half life 2 deathmatch. So, no enemies besides the other players. A little off theme, but ok.

    But if I'd ever make something like this for a mod or something I wouldn't mix DK1 style with DK2's models. And also, I hate DK2 models...

    EDIT: Thx btw ^^
    Last edited by Skaruts; May 29th, 2010 at 16:32.

  4. #4
    Mistress kyle's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    936
    Gamer IDs

    Gamertag: FOG I Kyle PSN ID: CreamedCustard Steam ID: kylemotherwell

    Default Re: Dungeon in Source Engine (experimental)

    Yea I dislike DKII's creatures aswell, too colorfull. It was just a thought as DKI's creatures are sprites. Perhaps bluto's models could be used as selectable characters.

  5. #5
    Fly
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Paradise City
    Posts
    75

    Default Re: Dungeon in Source Engine (experimental)

    For the time being the only models I'm thinking of adding are not creatures. Except chickens, but I will never model them myself due to lack of animation skills. I will attempt to model stuff myself, but will probably not be able to get the chickens. If anyone is willing to help with something, feel free to do so.

    Mind that this not a serious thing I'm doing. I'm currently exploring it, doing it for the fun of it, and my goal is, at most, to turn it into some sort of ctf map for HL2dm.

    I would realy love to work on a mod for HL2, that could envolve play with the Reaper, but that's something I can think about later.

  6. #6
    Demon Spawn Necror's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Over there
    Posts
    177
    Gamer IDs

    Steam ID: Necror

    Default Re: Dungeon in Source Engine (experimental)

    I made a shooter DK mod to (quake III)
    http://forum.keeperklan.com/threads/806-Quake-III-Arena

    as for the models
    if you publish it under GNU licence you are free to use the ones from wfto

  7. #7
    Fly
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Paradise City
    Posts
    75

    Default Re: Dungeon in Source Engine (experimental)

    Well, I'm just making a map atm, I dunno if I can work it out to make a ctf-like map in which ppl have to destroy each team's heart.
    But being just a map, and if I can make it, do I realy must specify that it's released under GNU licence?

    And where can I get their textures and models?

  8. #8
    Keeper of Keepers dotted's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Denmark
    Posts
    1,150
    Gamer IDs

    Steam ID: dotted

    Default Re: Dungeon in Source Engine (experimental)

    Quote Originally Posted by Skaruts View Post
    Well, I'm just making a map atm, I dunno if I can work it out to make a ctf-like map in which ppl have to destroy each team's heart.
    But being just a map, and if I can make it, do I realy must specify that it's released under GNU licence?
    The models and textures are licensed under the CC-BY-SA license, it means that you have to give credit to those who made the textures/models and that the textures and models you use retain the same license, even if you change the models/textures in any way.

    The GPL license is only for the WFTO source code, not the models or textures. But if you were to use GPL code in your map then yes, your map would be legally required to be GPL aswell - but since that doesn't seem to be the case you don't have to use the GPL for your map.

  9. #9
    Fly
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Paradise City
    Posts
    75

    Default Re: Dungeon in Source Engine (experimental)

    Ok. I'd strongly prefer to have my own models and textures, but my skills don't allow me everything... I have a few models already made, but their quality is a bit unhappy...

    But where can I get the textures and models?
    Last edited by Skaruts; June 2nd, 2010 at 17:04.

  10. #10
    Demon Spawn Necror's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Over there
    Posts
    177
    Gamer IDs

    Steam ID: Necror

    Default Re: Dungeon in Source Engine (experimental)

    download it.
    then look in the "War for the Overworld\data\resources" folder

Similar Threads

  1. Ryzon MMO goes Open source
    By dotted in forum War for the Overworld
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: June 10th, 2011, 13:40
  2. The Engine
    By [email protected] in forum Natural Born Keeper
    Replies: 78
    Last Post: September 3rd, 2010, 13:33
  3. How to compile source code from SVN
    By LMjai in forum KeeperFX
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: May 29th, 2010, 21:08
  4. Engine Design (Programming)
    By Kopavel in forum War for the Overworld
    Replies: 113
    Last Post: January 25th, 2010, 19:31

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •