Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 35

Thread: Dungeon Keeper II - How I got it running with Hardware Acceleration turned on in win7

  
  1. #11
    Demon Spawn
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    169

    Default Re: Dungeon Keeper II - How I got it running with Hardware Acceleration turned on in

    Quote Originally Posted by DragonsLover View Post
    I tried the exact same thing as above and it doesn't woooork!!!
    Well as I said "DKII.exe -softwarefilter -32bitdisplay -32bittextures -enablebumpmapping -enablebumpluminance" as the commandline options and compatibility mode set to XP worked flawlessly for me in 1600x1200 on Win7 x64.

    I got it! The "Threaded Optimization" option must also be turned to "Off" to make it work!
    What's that?

  2. #12
    Dark God DragonsLover's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Quebec
    Posts
    1,490
    Gamer IDs

    Steam ID: dragonslover

    Default Re: Dungeon Keeper II - How I got it running with Hardware Acceleration turned on in

    Finally, I thought it worked, but it doesn't.

    Without a compatibility mode, the game simply refuses to launch. I have to use WinXP SP3 compatiblity mode to make it run. Then, once in game, everything is black. I have no choice to turn off "Hardware acceleration" to see something. I tried the tweakings as explained above when it is set to On, and nothing seems to work, even with "Antialiasing mode" turned to Off.

    I wonder if there's a way to port the game to OpenGL instead of Direct3D...

    Whatever, I really don't want to spend much time trying to figure out how to make it running without problems. I'm just totally fed up...
    I like dragons! They're the center of my life! I'll never forget them...



  3. #13
    Demon Spawn
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    169

    Default Re: Dungeon Keeper II - How I got it running with Hardware Acceleration turned on in

    Hmm maybe you need to adjust your registry settings.

  4. #14
    Dark God DragonsLover's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Quebec
    Posts
    1,490
    Gamer IDs

    Steam ID: dragonslover

    Default Re: Dungeon Keeper II - How I got it running with Hardware Acceleration turned on in

    I did. But even, what would be the things to alter?
    I like dragons! They're the center of my life! I'll never forget them...



  5. #15

    Default Re: Dungeon Keeper II - How I got it running with Hardware Acceleration turned on in

    found a link on youtube. try searching "dungeon keeper windows 7" on youtube. you will find a post from EsotericArticles.

  6. #16
    Dark God DragonsLover's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Quebec
    Posts
    1,490
    Gamer IDs

    Steam ID: dragonslover

    Default Re: Dungeon Keeper II - How I got it running with Hardware Acceleration turned on in

    Sorry, but we're talking about running the game WITH hardware acceleration turned on and in the video, it is WITHOUT.

    I can play the game perfectly without hardware acceleration, there's no black areas but the game is somewhat uglier.
    I like dragons! They're the center of my life! I'll never forget them...



  7. #17

    Default Re: Dungeon Keeper II - How I got it running with Hardware Acceleration turned on in

    has anyone ever managed to get DK2 to run at anything higher then 1024*768 under win7, any res I tried the game CTD's...

  8. #18
    Demon Spawn
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    169

    Default Re: Dungeon Keeper II - How I got it running with Hardware Acceleration turned on in

    Yes, I posted it several times in this thread.

  9. #19

    Default Re: Dungeon Keeper II - How I got it running with Hardware Acceleration turned on in

    Quote Originally Posted by Trass3r View Post
    Yes, I posted it several times in this thread.
    I would double check, but Im am failrly sure that none of your methods worked for me..

  10. #20
    Awakening Game Master Metal Gear Rex's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    5,616

    Default Re: Dungeon Keeper II - How I got it running with Hardware Acceleration turned on in

    Quote Originally Posted by b1k3rdude View Post
    I would double check, but Im am failrly sure that none of your methods worked for me..
    Considering how through a coincidential typo, you said "fail" somewhere in there, perhaps you should check again. Besides, being "fairly sure" doesn't sound sure enough. :/
    Dungeon Keeper 2 Patch: With More Balance and Pie [Hiatus]
    Forever Hiatus. Probably. Latest Version: 3.5 w/Levels 1-11 Revised.

    The Awakening: GM Powers Activate!
    Tesonu is napping!

    LOL, WFTO

Similar Threads

  1. DK2 -with- hardware acceleration, impossible?
    By john in forum DK2 Troubleshooting
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: October 29th, 2010, 19:23
  2. Dungeon Keeper won't run
    By Combat-Enforcer in forum DK1 Troubleshooting
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: July 16th, 2010, 19:54
  3. Best Dungeon Keeper Fan
    By dk2player in forum Silly
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: February 12th, 2010, 19:58
  4. Dungeon Keeper 3D
    By Hyzoran in forum DK1 Troubleshooting
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: November 15th, 2009, 08:26
  5. Does keeper klan have a wiki for dungeon keeper?
    By kyle in forum General Discussion
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: November 6th, 2009, 15:02

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •