Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: Black Play-map

  
  1. #1

    Default Black Play-map

    I'm trying to play Dungeon Keeper 2(duh) and when I load the game up, the gem that should be in the background of main menu is hidden by a wall of black. I load level one and after the clips(which are partially blocked by a black wall, the main play-floor is-shockingly- hidden behind a black wall. I can see all gauges, the HUD, etc but i cannot see my Dungeon Heart or my creatures. Help?

    I'm running Windows 7 starter and running it in Windows 2000 compatibility mode.

  2. #2
    WFTO - Lead Producer kyle's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    936
    Gamer IDs

    Gamertag: FOG I Kyle PSN ID: CreamedCustard Steam ID: kylemotherwell

    Default Re: Black Play-map

    In the options, turn hardware acceleration off.

  3. #3

    Default Re: Black Play-map

    I've tried that. It still won't work. I still cannot see the Portal Gem or the Dungeon Heart.

  4. #4
    Moderator MaxHayman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    London, England
    Posts
    220
    Gamer IDs

    Gamertag: Max Hayman PSN ID: Ballwinkle XFIRE ID: elmaxaman Steam ID: ballwinkle

    Default Re: Black Play-map

    So nothing changed at all? Somtimes the settings reset so hardware accelleration is still on.

  5. #5
    WFTO - Lead Producer kyle's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    936
    Gamer IDs

    Gamertag: FOG I Kyle PSN ID: CreamedCustard Steam ID: kylemotherwell

    Default Re: Black Play-map

    have you tried taking compatibility mode off and doing it?

  6. #6

    Default Re: Black Play-map

    No help. It seems like a problem with the render depth/distance.

  7. #7
    Moderator MaxHayman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    London, England
    Posts
    220
    Gamer IDs

    Gamertag: Max Hayman PSN ID: Ballwinkle XFIRE ID: elmaxaman Steam ID: ballwinkle

    Default Re: Black Play-map

    What graphics card do you have

  8. #8
    Dark God DragonsLover's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Quebec
    Posts
    1,490
    Gamer IDs

    Steam ID: dragonslover

    Default Re: Black Play-map

    After turning hardware acceleration off, you must start a game to bring the modifications. If there's still no changes, are your drivers up to date?
    I like dragons! They're the center of my life! I'll never forget them...



  9. #9

    Default Re: Black Play-map

    Got it to run with several command-lines( -disablegamma -softwarefilter -16bitdisplay ) And I still get the wall in the main menu but I can play it now. Thanks for all you help.

  10. #10
    Dark God DragonsLover's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Quebec
    Posts
    1,490
    Gamer IDs

    Steam ID: dragonslover

    Default Re: Black Play-map

    -16bitdisplay command doesn't exist btw since DK2 already plays in 16bit. -32bitdisplay exists however.

    Don't hesitate to post again if you get other problems.
    I like dragons! They're the center of my life! I'll never forget them...



Similar Threads

  1. Do you still play ? :o
    By Ðârk Âñgêl in forum DK2 Multiplayer
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: June 26th, 2010, 23:24
  2. The Black Knight's True Identity
    By Metal Gear Rex in forum Off Topic
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: November 18th, 2009, 04:01
  3. Black Knight's Quest
    By Metal Gear Rex in forum DK2 Maps
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: October 21st, 2009, 13:53
  4. Black Video?!
    By maatn in forum DK2 Troubleshooting
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: September 7th, 2009, 16:42

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •