Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14

Thread: Problem with a few monsters and entrance

  
  1. #1

    Default Problem with a few monsters and entrance

    Hello everyone. It's me again.

    I have the following problem. I am making a multiplayer map, that similar to the good guys campaign lures only good monsters trough the entrance. That works rather well. Trough the script to change avialiability it works great. BUT there are exactely 3 Monsters that just don't work. These are the KNIGHT the WITCH and the AVATAR. And whatever i do, even if i take out all the other monsters and make them avialable from the start they simply won't enter. They are in the pool, they are avaliable, yet they will not enter trough the entrace even though all other heroes work. Might their names be different in script?

    Code:
    REM ***** SETUP - CREATURES *****
    
    ADD_CREATURE_TO_POOL(WIZARD,20)
    ADD_CREATURE_TO_POOL(BARBARIAN,20)
    ADD_CREATURE_TO_POOL(ARCHER,20)
    ADD_CREATURE_TO_POOL(MONK,20)
    ADD_CREATURE_TO_POOL(DWARFA,10)
    ADD_CREATURE_TO_POOL(WITCH,20)
    ADD_CREATURE_TO_POOL(GIANT,20)
    ADD_CREATURE_TO_POOL(FAIRY,20)
    ADD_CREATURE_TO_POOL(THIEF,20)
    ADD_CREATURE_TO_POOL(KNIGHT,20)
    ADD_CREATURE_TO_POOL(SAMURAI,20)
    ADD_CREATURE_TO_POOL(TUNNELLER,10)
    ADD_CREATURE_TO_POOL(AVATAR,8)
    
    CREATURE_AVAILABLE(ALL_PLAYERS,DWARFA,0,0)
    CREATURE_AVAILABLE(ALL_PLAYERS,TUNNELLER,0,0)
    
    CREATURE_AVAILABLE(ALL_PLAYERS,WIZARD,0,0)
    CREATURE_AVAILABLE(ALL_PLAYERS,BARBARIAN,0,0)
    CREATURE_AVAILABLE(ALL_PLAYERS,ARCHER,0,0)
    CREATURE_AVAILABLE(ALL_PLAYERS,MONK,0,0)
    CREATURE_AVAILABLE(ALL_PLAYERS,WITCH,1,1)
    CREATURE_AVAILABLE(ALL_PLAYERS,GIANT,0,0)
    CREATURE_AVAILABLE(ALL_PLAYERS,FAIRY,0,0)
    CREATURE_AVAILABLE(ALL_PLAYERS,THIEF,0,0)
    CREATURE_AVAILABLE(ALL_PLAYERS,KNIGHT,1,1)
    CREATURE_AVAILABLE(ALL_PLAYERS,SAMURAI,0,0)
    CREATURE_AVAILABLE(ALL_PLAYERS,AVATAR,1,1)

    I did not include the requirements since even without requirements it doesn't work. It has to be linked to these lines. Unless these 3 creatures are hardcoded not to appear trough entrance? i could understand that for Knight and Avatar but why would the Witch be hardcoded?

    I hope someone can help me here

  2. #2
    Awakening Game Master Metal Gear Rex's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    5,689

    Default Re: Problem with a few monsters and entrance

    Build every single type of room and see if you can attract them then.
    Dungeon Keeper 2 Patch: With More Balance and Pie [Hiatus]
    Forever Hiatus. Probably. Latest Version: 3.5 w/Levels 1-11 Revised.

    The Awakening: GM Powers Activate!
    Tesonu is napping!

  3. #3

    Default Re: Problem with a few monsters and entrance

    Ok i tried it now. The Witch comes if you have at least 3x3 Scavenger Room, Library and Temple. Even if avialable from the start. Avatar and Knight don't appear at all

    if i take a look at its creature txt it seems to be right. 9 library and 1 scavenger. So it seems a creature NEEDS the rooms even if avialable.

    So guess that means i can only make the Ava and Knight come out of the entrance if i change the rooms they need?

    EDIT: Yep if i get the 36 tiles training room i get the knight and the 20 lair and hatchery tiles also brings me the Avatar.

    Is there a way to bypass this trough scripting? I really don't like to force people to build every room, especially since the scavenger room was planned to be excluded from the level, but for the witch that would be impossible. Does someone know what to do?
    Last edited by Randy19; May 2nd, 2012 at 11:47.

  4. #4
    Elite Dragon Mothrayas's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    1,635

    Default Re: Problem with a few monsters and entrance

    Are you using KeeperFX? If so, then the creature configuration files should have their room requirements listed in there somewhere.

    The Awakening


  5. #5
    Awakening Game Master Metal Gear Rex's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    5,689

    Default Re: Problem with a few monsters and entrance

    Quote Originally Posted by Randy19 View Post
    Ok i tried it now. The Witch comes if you have at least 3x3 Scavenger Room, Library and Temple. Even if avialable from the start. Avatar and Knight don't appear at all

    if i take a look at its creature txt it seems to be right. 9 library and 1 scavenger. So it seems a creature NEEDS the rooms even if avialable.

    IO guess that means i can only make the Ava and Knight come out of the entrance if i change the rooms they need?
    By default, Heroes have no attraction data and will appear so as long as they are available to the Player and are within the Creature Pool. I've done so before. You have modified settings, as I suspected. Are you using DragonsLover's patch or FX? The attraction settings have been changed in both, (as FX uses DL's patch) but in FX, the creature.txt file is ignored. Unless you meant their .cfg files.
    Dungeon Keeper 2 Patch: With More Balance and Pie [Hiatus]
    Forever Hiatus. Probably. Latest Version: 3.5 w/Levels 1-11 Revised.

    The Awakening: GM Powers Activate!
    Tesonu is napping!

  6. #6

    Default Re: Problem with a few monsters and entrance

    Yeah i ment the cfg files. They are indeed changed. That is, all heroes DO have room requirements listed in them in the creatrs folder.

    But if they are by default with no room specs and the good guys campaign uses the is avialable command anyway i should be able to set them all on no rooms without taking the risk of breaking anything right?

  7. #7
    Awakening Game Master Metal Gear Rex's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    5,689

    Default Re: Problem with a few monsters and entrance

    Quote Originally Posted by Randy19 View Post
    Yeah i ment the cfg files. They are indeed changed. That is, all heroes DO have room requirements listed in them in the creatrs folder.

    But if they are by default with no room specs and the good guys campaign uses the is avialable command anyway i should be able to set them all on no rooms without taking the risk of breaking anything right?
    It won't break anything, no.
    Dungeon Keeper 2 Patch: With More Balance and Pie [Hiatus]
    Forever Hiatus. Probably. Latest Version: 3.5 w/Levels 1-11 Revised.

    The Awakening: GM Powers Activate!
    Tesonu is napping!

  8. #8
    Fly Gold Knight's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    79

    Default Re: Problem with a few monsters and entrance

    Just tested it myself. These are the exact requirements:

    Code:
    TUNNELLER	N/A
    DWARFA		1x1 Treasure Room, 3x3 Workshop
    BARBARIAN	3x3 Training Room
    GIANT		3x5 Hatchery, 5x5 Training Room
    THIEF		3x3 Treasure Room, 1x1 Lair
    ARCHER		1x1 Guard Post
    SAMURAI		1x1 Torture Chamber, 2x3 Barracks, 3x3 Training Room
    KNIGHT		6x6 Training Room
    WIZARD		3x3 Library
    MONK		2x4 Temple
    WITCH		3x3 Library, 1x1 Scavenger Room
    FAIRY		1x1 Lair, 3x3 Library
    AVATAR		4x5 Lair, 5x5 Hatchery, 6x6 Training Room
    Hope that helps!

  9. #9

    Default Re: Problem with a few monsters and entrance

    Yeah my problem wasn't that iwanted to know when they come but wanted to decide when they come. I wanted an Avatar to unlock every time a dungeon heart was destroyed.

    But i will just reset the cfg's then it should be fine. Still thank you everyone

  10. #10
    Fly Gold Knight's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    79

    Default Re: Problem with a few monsters and entrance

    This kind of logic would work, you just need to alter it to suit your needs better:

    Code:
    IF(PLAYER1,ALL_DUNGEONS_DESTROYED==1)
      CREATURE_AVAILABLE(PLAYER0,AVATAR,1,1)
      ADD_CREATURE_TO_POOL(AVATAR,2)
    ENDIF

Similar Threads

  1. Gem problem in 0.37c
    By Hush in forum KeeperFX
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: April 1st, 2011, 09:44
  2. problem dk2
    By 0p5 in forum Dungeon Keeper 2
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: September 14th, 2010, 14:54
  3. Map Problem
    By OldGreg in forum DK2 Troubleshooting
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: January 24th, 2010, 11:22
  4. no cd problem
    By dk2player in forum KeeperFX
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: September 6th, 2009, 11:17

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •