Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: DKII.exe has stopped working and needs to be closed

  
  1. #1

    Post DKII.exe has stopped working and needs to be closed

    Hello fellow Masters of Evil!

    I got the GOG game of DK2 about a week ago, and sometimes it keeps crashing for no reason.
    The game stops, I return to my desktop and I get a message that DKII.exe has stopped working.
    This offen happens when I'm clicking on something (sometimes just when I press the 'save' button)
    But it also happens when I'm just moving my mouse, training in the combat pit or doing something else. Just anytime.

    I'm on version 1.7.
    Windows 7 64-bit laptop (service pack 1)
    quad core i7 @2.0gb intel processor
    4GB of ram

    I tried everything I know what to do. Hardware acceleration was already off when I checked and there is no safedisk included as far as I know.

    Are there any other things I can do about that? Maybe I should run the game in Virtal PC?

    Thank you in advance ^^

    Something else: Is there a feature so that the game saves itself lets say every 5 minutes? this would also be a good solution!

    A dutch DK2 player who played this game for years and never found out there was a forum for such an old game

    Reason for editing: added the smiley on the bottom end of the post correctly
    Last edited by Daan Dankers; January 19th, 2013 at 17:29.

  2. #2

    Default Re: DKII.exe has stopped working and needs to be closed

    Okay so I quick saved a couple times, and the game just crashed 1 minute after i quick saved. but how do I quick load the game? they aren't in my saved games files

  3. #3
    Dark God DragonsLover's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Quebec
    Posts
    1,490
    Gamer IDs

    Steam ID: dragonslover

    Default Re: DKII.exe has stopped working and needs to be closed

    Have you downloaded the GOG DK2 patch?
    I like dragons! They're the center of my life! I'll never forget them...



  4. #4

    Default Re: DKII.exe has stopped working and needs to be closed

    I don't know.. They didn't ask for an update. Where Can I find this update? on the gog.com website?

    I found this on the gogwiki

    Edit1:
    Official patches:
    The game is already patched up to the latest official version.

    http://www.gogwiki.com/wiki/Dungeon_...icial_overview

    Edit2:
    Should I download the 1.8 patch?

    edit3:
    I did some research and I downloaded VMware with Windows XP.
    I also downloaded Dungeon Keeper 2 Silver Edition, just to check if the game would work. It didn't.
    It had exact the same problem as I have with DK2 GOG on windows 7. Is there something wrong with my PC?
    I have an Nvdia GT540M videocard if someone needs to know :P
    Last edited by Daan Dankers; January 17th, 2013 at 18:03.

  5. #5
    Dark God DragonsLover's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Quebec
    Posts
    1,490
    Gamer IDs

    Steam ID: dragonslover

    Default Re: DKII.exe has stopped working and needs to be closed

    No I'm not talking about the 1.8 unofficial patch. I'm talking about this. It's even written in the wiki you provided.
    I like dragons! They're the center of my life! I'll never forget them...



  6. #6

    Default Re: DKII.exe has stopped working and needs to be closed

    I don't think so.. I cant find it anywhere on the internet. I can't use the GOG updater because I downloaded it using torrents. Is it possible to download it anywhere?

    Also: do you think the problems will stop if I completely remove Dungeon Keeper from my PC and only play it on windows XP using VMware (not the GOG version, just the normal game with 1.7 patch)

  7. #7

    Default Re: DKII.exe has stopped working and needs to be closed

    Just had another crash. I started a pretty big (unofficial) map, and everything went fine. But then I was killing the other keeper, and the game crashed again. I think it has something to do with the size/number of things on the map.. It looks like it doesn't crash on small maps (level 1 campaign etc.), but only on the big ones I play for a long time..

  8. #8
    Dark God DragonsLover's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Quebec
    Posts
    1,490
    Gamer IDs

    Steam ID: dragonslover

    Default Re: DKII.exe has stopped working and needs to be closed

    Last edited by DragonsLover; January 21st, 2013 at 07:38.
    I like dragons! They're the center of my life! I'll never forget them...



  9. #9

    Default Re: DKII.exe has stopped working and needs to be closed

    thank you for that thread.

    - There is no SafeDisk included in my version as far as I know, so I can't remove it. (How do I know I have it? There is no "safedisk" message/image when I open DK2)
    - All my drivers are up to date
    - Hardware Acceleration is off
    - When I download Microsoft Application Compatibility Toolkit, step 6-10 doesn't exist in my version.. The options it says there should be aren't there. So I litterally checked every box there was (366 to be exact) and ran a test game. The game worked a bit longer but it still crashed.
    - When I don't use a compatibility mode, the game won't start.
    - I used Virtual PC: didn't work. VMWare windows 98: the game didn't start VMWare windows XP: same problem as I have now.
    - When I disable cores from my processor, the game still crashes. When I open the game again it uses all the available cores though..

    So nothing really helped.. I might have a PC with windows XP on it somewhere in the house (no dual boot or virtual PC, just plain windows XP)
    Do you think I can run the game on that PC? I don't know the specifications so I can't tell anything more about it but I think it's single core.

    Any other methods? I tried googling it but it didn't really help..

  10. #10

    Default Re: DKII.exe has stopped working and needs to be closed

    Any other solutions? Or do I just plain suck with this?

Similar Threads

  1. I just bought DKII
    By Necror in forum General Discussion
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: May 7th, 2012, 18:36
  2. Working on DKII
    By Displacer in forum Dungeon Keeper 2
    Replies: 27
    Last Post: September 15th, 2011, 12:25
  3. Issue with DKII using GameRanger.
    By Rovado in forum DK2 Troubleshooting
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: February 24th, 2011, 19:28
  4. so, my DKII won't start...
    By Mortarus in forum DK2 Troubleshooting
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: September 1st, 2010, 19:28
  5. Geocities will be closed.
    By Grinder in forum General Discussion
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: February 21st, 2010, 13:56

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •