Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Linking objectives/information to action points

  
  1. #1

    Default Linking objectives/information to action points

    Hey everyone,

    I've been going through various trial-and-error methods of getting objectives and/or information points to pop up when an action point is triggered by the player, but I cannot for the life of me get it to function! After looking through existing script for the original DK/DD levels, I see a lot of things like this:

    IF_ACTION_POINT(2,PLAYER0)DISPLAY_OBJECTIVE(902)
    ENDIF

    Implying that there is some massive list of information/objectives somewhere that the code refers to? That being the case, do I add my own to this and then add the reference in my own scripting? I've tried listing them at the bottom of the script itself but it just brings them all up at the beginning of the level.

    This is probably a bit of noobie issue, but I'm pretty new to this editing/creating lark.

    Any help would be gratefully received

  2. #2
    Dragon DragonsLover's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Quebec
    Posts
    1,490
    Gamer IDs

    Steam ID: dragonslover

    Default Re: Linking objectives/information to action points

    Hello!

    In which level did you see that? Unless changes have been brought to the DISPLAY_OBJECTIVE command, this is absolutely not the way to write this command.

    DISPLAY_OBJECTIVE must have two parameters: the text ID and the zoom to player, thus giving DISPLAY_OBJECTIVE(xxx,PLAYERy). If you don't want the objective to zoom at a specific player, use ALL_PLAYERS instead.

    DISPLAY_INFORMATION, however, must have a single parameter, which is simply the text ID such as: DISPLAY_INFORMATION(x). You must NOT put a player as a second parameter.
    I like dragons! They're the center of my life! I'll never forget them...



  3. #3
    KeeperFX Author mefistotelis's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Poland
    Posts
    1,242

    Default Re: Linking objectives/information to action points

    Also, you may have only one command in one line - the scripting language in DK isn't very sophisticated.

  4. #4
    Mapmaker
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Bristol, United Kingdom, United Kingdom
    Posts
    145

    Default Re: Linking objectives/information to action points

    Too point out maybe the hidden question, is there a list of objectives viewable or creatable to reference when using DISPLAY_OBJECTIVE, Using my own I use QUICK_OBJECTIVE but could also use DISPLAY_OBJECTIVE if I could find a list of what each one says.

  5. #5
    KeeperFX Author mefistotelis's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Poland
    Posts
    1,242

    Default Re: Linking objectives/information to action points

    Quote Originally Posted by shortmicky View Post
    is there a list of objectives viewable or creatable to reference when using DISPLAY_OBJECTIVE
    There are tools which allow to view and edit text.dat - the file which stores translations in original DK.
    As for KeeperFX, DAT files are generated from .PO/.POT files, which are available on code repository:
    https://code.google.com/p/keeperfx/s...eeperfx%2Flang

    As you can see, KeeperFX allows you to create your own .pot/.po file for a specific campaign. Then a tool po2ngdat is used to convert the file into .DAT format.

    Quote Originally Posted by shortmicky View Post
    I use QUICK_OBJECTIVE but could also use DISPLAY_OBJECTIVE if I could find a list of what each one says.
    I think you should use one convention. Either use QUICK_* for all messages, or DISPLAY_* for all of them.

    It's quite easy to convert QUICK_* commands into .pot file by a simple script, so you can start with QUICK_* commands, and replace them with DISPLAY_* when the whole campaign is ready.
    The script which creates large part of .pot file based on QUICK_* commands is here:
    https://code.google.com/p/keeperfx/s...s%2Fcampgn2pot

    Using .POT file to store english objectives allows easy translation of the campaign with use of POEdit - it's a tool which helps translating various applications.
    .POT is a translation template in english.
    .PO is a translation to language other than english.
    Last edited by mefistotelis; November 20th, 2013 at 08:15.

  6. #6

    Default Re: Linking objectives/information to action points

    Thanks for the tips guys, I haven't been doing any DK editing/creating for a while, but I'll let you know how I get on

Similar Threads

  1. Heroes don't patrol when sent to action points
    By darkkingkongman in forum DK2 Troubleshooting
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: February 23rd, 2013, 20:05
  2. action points
    By 12345 in forum DK1 Mapmaking
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: December 26th, 2010, 22:23
  3. Questions: Flags, Action Points, Hero Objects
    By dst in forum DK2 Mapmaking
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: October 24th, 2010, 20:01
  4. Objectives Screen Crashes
    By Yosharian in forum DK2 Troubleshooting
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: July 6th, 2010, 21:32

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •