Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: Resolution quesiton

  
  1. #1

    Red face Resolution quesiton

    HI, I'm very new to this forum.
    Recently I found this very ancient game that I played when I was a kid and am so thrilled that there is this fan expansion.
    But, I can't get this working correctly.
    I'm using a win10 on my macbook.
    I'm using a 2880x1800 resolution for the system.
    When I start keeperFX in fullscreen mode, it only shows me part of the screen,(i.e. the top left part of the whole view).
    I tried to change the resolution in launcher and cfg but didn't work.
    I also tried window mode, but the window was so small that I could barely see the details.
    Please help me!

  2. #2
    Demon Spawn
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    169

    Default Re: Resolution quesiton

    Did you try a smaller resolution like 1920?
    Also not sure to which extent SDL1 supports retina displays.

  3. #3

    Unhappy Re: Resolution quesiton

    Quote Originally Posted by Trass3r View Post
    Did you try a smaller resolution like 1920?
    Also not sure to which extent SDL1 supports retina displays.
    Thanks for the reply.
    I tried 1920 resolutions but it gave me an error when I wanted to launch the game in fullscreen mode.
    I guess it doesn't work well in the retina screen? Is that it?

  4. #4
    Demon Spawn
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    169

    Default Re: Resolution quesiton

    What kind of error? Is there anything in the keeperfx.log?
    I guess you could also give the latest official dlls a try: https://www.libsdl.org/release/SDL-1.2.15-win32.zip

  5. #5

    Default Re: Resolution quesiton

    Indeed, tell us what kind of error and what the log file says. But you could also try to force -windib instead of directx to see if that works.

  6. #6

    Default Re: Resolution quesiton

    Quote Originally Posted by Trass3r View Post
    What kind of error? Is there anything in the keeperfx.log?
    I guess you could also give the latest official dlls a try: https://www.libsdl.org/release/SDL-1.2.15-win32.zip
    Thank you. I tried but still not working.

  7. #7

    Default Re: Resolution quesiton

    The popup error is:
    Setting up game failed.
    This error in 'LbBullfrogMain' makes the program unable to continue. See 'keeperfx.log' for details.

    And the log files was:
    Dungeon Keeper FX ver 0.4.6.1670 (heavylog release)
    LOG CREATED @ 07:13:20 02-02-2019

    Sync: LbMouseChangeMoveRatio: New ratio 256x256
    Sync: CPU GenuineIntel type 0 family 6 model 14 stepping 1 features bfebfbff
    Sync: PhysicalMemory 32
    Sync: Memory-demanding features enabled.
    Sync: load_configuration: Starting
    Sync: load_configuration: Processing Config file, 886 bytes
    Sync: load_configuration: Config loaded
    Sync: setup_screen_mode_zero: Setting up mode 30
    Error: LbScreenSetup: Full screen resolution 1280x960 (mode 30) not available
    Error: setup_screen_mode_zero: Unable to setup screen resolution 1280x960x32 (mode 30)
    Error: setup_game: Unable to set display mode for legal screen
    Sync: reset_game: Starting
    LbDataFree: freeing "*SCRATCH"...done
    LbDataFree: freeing "data/palette.dat"...done
    Error: In source LbBullfrogMain:
    2 - Setting up game failed.

    If I go 1280x800, I could enter the game except for the view being incomplete. (only the top left part of the image was displayed.)

    I want to play it anyway so I tried the window mode. The window was so small that I could barely see anything clearly....
    Last edited by LeonHex; February 1st, 2019 at 20:17.

  8. #8

    Default Re: Resolution quesiton

    Strange aspect ratio you have there,... do you have a regular 16:9 monitor, or do you actually have a 16:10 monitor or something?

    Try 1280x720 or 1920x1080 instead. Or even 848x480.

  9. #9

    Default Re: Resolution quesiton

    Quote Originally Posted by YourMaster View Post
    Strange aspect ratio you have there,... do you have a regular 16:9 monitor, or do you actually have a 16:10 monitor or something?

    Try 1280x720 or 1920x1080 instead. Or even 848x480.
    Yes because I'm using win10 on my macbook (bootcamp). The system resolution is high.
    From the launcher, I can not see the resolutions you mentioned. How can I do it?

  10. #10

    Default Re: Resolution quesiton

    I believe you can just type in the launcher as well, whatever values you want, but if not, just edit your keeperfx.cfg with a text editor like notepad. Change the INGAME_RES line to, I don't know,...

    INGAME_RES=1280x720x32 848x480w32 2880x1800x32

    or something. Launch the game, start a level, and press Alt+R to change between them. The w you see in the middle one makes that one 'windowed'.

Similar Threads

  1. High resolution sprites = High resolution KeeperFX
    By YourMaster in forum KeeperFX
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: January 22nd, 2019, 19:22
  2. screen resolution
    By stilcor in forum DK1 Troubleshooting
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: June 22nd, 2016, 06:20
  3. dk2 resolution patch
    By darkkingkongman in forum Dungeon Keeper 2
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: September 19th, 2015, 09:19
  4. Resolution problems?
    By ExAiL in forum KeeperFX
    Replies: 28
    Last Post: January 31st, 2015, 15:28
  5. Resolution, HELP!
    By Epplus in forum DK1 Troubleshooting
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: October 21st, 2012, 09:36

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •