Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14

Thread: New Trap capabilities in KeeperFX

  
  1. #1
    Demon Spawn
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Location
    Cardiff, UK
    Posts
    176

    Default New Trap capabilities in KeeperFX

    There are some amazing demonstrations of new trap possibilities here

    https://www.youtube.com/playlist?lis...JupcFyf51xXNhY

    Extract from the discord chat:

    "It's just that there's 6 traps in the original game
    and since the original code is still used for lots of things, there only was space to store information about 6 trap types
    TheSim managed to completely stop using the original code for traps
    so that limit no longer exists"

    So impressive! Well done TheSim!

    dayo
    Last edited by dayokay; September 6th, 2020 at 13:21.

  2. #2
    Demon Spawn
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Location
    Cardiff, UK
    Posts
    176

    Default Re: New Trap capabilities in KeeperFX

    Is TheSim on keeperklan? Would he share his scripts so we can try these out ourselves?

    Also - it was said that any new traps must replace an existing trap within a campaign? What's causing this limit?

    dayo

  3. #3

    Default Re: New Trap capabilities in KeeperFX

    These traps from that video I did myself, and are possible in the KeeperFX version already released (0.4.8). I did not store the configurations I used, but I did comment trapdoor.cfg to provide enough info to get you started on this.
    The hard thing is selecting the sprites, since I don't know what the sprite numbers are from the sprites. To find those, I looked in the GFX archives on keeperklan, and just tried numbers and looked at their position in the filelist until I found the one I wanted.

    O, and the limit basically is part of the original code. It's not that the original game could not do more than 6, it's that the original game has six, so keeperfx has 6 too. But don't worry, the next version has this limit lifted by no longer using DK structures for this.
    Last edited by YourMaster; September 9th, 2020 at 21:14.

  4. #4
    Demon Spawn
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Location
    Cardiff, UK
    Posts
    176

    Default Re: New Trap capabilities in KeeperFX

    Where are the GFX archives for the sprite numbers?

    some of those traps are remarkable. Great to see something so new / novel in this old game!

  5. #5

    Default Re: New Trap capabilities in KeeperFX


  6. #6

    Default Re: New Trap capabilities in KeeperFX

    Sim found a list of objects in the game:

    https://github.com/dkfans/keeperfx/b...objects.c#L218

    It's far from complete, but it's something. A barrel is 930.

  7. #7

    Default Re: New Trap capabilities in KeeperFX

    I can't get it working. Everything works ok until I load the game. Then the traps are default.

  8. #8

    Default Re: New Trap capabilities in KeeperFX

    Share a script please and I'll have a look. Does the log file say anything?

  9. #9

    Default Re: New Trap capabilities in KeeperFX

    I was messing about with it and found to get the trap models to update you need to place a trap during the level. Pre-placed traps retain their same model

  10. #10

    Default Re: New Trap capabilities in KeeperFX

    mmm, that sucks but makes sense.

    EDIT: Wait a minute,... on my NG+ secret levels that's not the case. Treebeard, could it be that for unexplored-preplaced traps it does work?

Similar Threads

  1. KeeperFX 0.38b BUG boulder trap
    By jomalin in forum KeeperFX
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: August 13th, 2012, 09:09
  2. Replies: 2
    Last Post: June 24th, 2011, 21:02
  3. KeeperFX 0.38a TRAP BUG (crash)
    By jomalin in forum KeeperFX
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: January 28th, 2011, 20:11

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •