Thread: Dungeon Keeper 1 on Windows 10

Default Dungeon Keeper 1 on Windows 10

So, I've been playing Dungeon Keeper 1 & 2 for over 20 years now, and I'm trying to give 1 another playthru because I recently completed DK2. Now, I own both DK1 and DK2 on both CD format and on GOG. The problem I'm having is that I don't like the DOS version. The visuals are ugly, the gameplay feels clunky and even when I adjust the resolution, the game slows down and the AI stops performing certain actions (i don't recall which actions off the top of my head, but it did cost me my initial attempt to play thru the game via DOS).

I don't know where my original copies of DK 1 & 2 are, and I'm hoping they're tucked away somewhere on a CD spindle I have in my closet, but i went ahead and bought yet another DK1 CD copy off ebay. I don't know if it's a problem, or not, but it's the EA Classics copy and I cannot get it to install on my PC (Win10). Moreover, I used to have a copy of my original CD files saved onto an external HDD that a friend rerouted the directories to read off the HDD instead of the CD so I could play without the CD because the CD-R in my current PC makes a highpitched wirring sound any time I use it and I fully expect to get back any inserted CD full of scratches or... for the CD-R to effectively self destruct. I've tried running the installer in compatibility mode with no success except that it created conflicts with some of my other, clean playing, games (which I've resolved).

I'd really like to play the game, again, but I don't know what else to do.

I'm also trying to edit the Creature file, but that'd be pointless if I can't even install the game.

Please tell me there's still hope.

Default Re: Dungeon Keeper 1 on Windows 10

What you can do is install keeperfx. It will then copy some files of your CD to make sure you own it, but you do not need to install it. Afterwards you can take out your cd and never need it again.