Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2
Results 11 to 18 of 18

Thread: can't play custom multiplayer maps

  
  1. #11
    Elite Dragon Mothrayas's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    1,635

    Default Re: can't play custom multiplayer maps

    Create .lof files for the maps. (e.g. map00040.lof)

    Code:
    ; KeeperFX Level Overview File (LOF)
    KIND = MULTI
    NAME_TEXT = Mothrayas Multiplayer Map 5
    ENSIGN_POS = 400 200
    ENSIGN_ZOOM = 400 200
    PLAYERS = 4
    OPTIONS =
    is an example of a .lof file, which was posted in this very thread.

    The Awakening


  2. #12
    KeeperFX Author mefistotelis's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Poland
    Posts
    1,242

    Default Re: can't play custom multiplayer maps

    And make sure you don't have both .LIF and .LOF for the same map.
    Having them both would confuse the game.

    If you want the level to appear in "free play levels", then you may use .LIF file created by the official editor or ADiKtEd. But to make it work in multiplayer menu, you have to use .LOF and delete the .LIF.

    The .LOF file can also define maps for "free play levels" menu - you just have to set:
    Code:
    KIND = FREE
    instead of the "MULTI" kind. In this case, you don't have to define ENSIGN_* parameters, and the amount of players should be set to 1.

  3. #13
    Fly
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    53

    Default Re: can't play custom multiplayer maps

    Okay, thank you!

    I found one little tiny LIF file in the levels-directory mad the game crash all the time. Now it works fine.

  4. #14
    Fly
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    53

    Default Re: can't play custom multiplayer maps

    BTW - Is there a limitation of how many levels with flags you can make into the multiplayer map???
    Means new added flags dont show up anymore (like the last two DD-Multi-Maps 149 and 150) :O


    EDIT: Yes, I tested it. For every new map I add (in my case 00041...) one disappears. I added 00040 - 000150 disappeared. I added 00041 - 000149 disappeared. :O
    Last edited by CargoOfDarkness; February 21st, 2010 at 16:19.

  5. #15
    KeeperFX Author mefistotelis's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Poland
    Posts
    1,242

    Default Re: can't play custom multiplayer maps

    Yes, arrays that store them have static size:
    Code:
      LevelNumber single_levels[CAMPAIGN_LEVELS_COUNT];
      LevelNumber multi_levels[CAMPAIGN_LEVELS_COUNT];
      LevelNumber bonus_levels[CAMPAIGN_LEVELS_COUNT];
      LevelNumber extra_levels[CAMPAIGN_LEVELS_COUNT];
      LevelNumber freeplay_levels[FREE_LEVELS_COUNT];
    where:
    Code:
    #define CAMPAIGN_LEVELS_COUNT        50
    #define FREE_LEVELS_COUNT         10000
    It's very easy to increase the limit, or make these arrays dynamic - I just was in a hurry when implementing them.

    EDIT:
    I just changed the limit; there will be 1000 multiplayer level slots in next version.
    Last edited by mefistotelis; February 21st, 2010 at 21:56.

  6. #16
    Fly
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    53

    Default Re: can't play custom multiplayer maps

    Quote Originally Posted by mefistotelis View Post
    It's very easy to increase the limit, or make these arrays dynamic - I just was in a hurry when implementing them.
    Good!
    I am total noob, where can I change it?

  7. #17
    KeeperFX Author mefistotelis's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Poland
    Posts
    1,242

    Default Re: can't play custom multiplayer maps

    Quote Originally Posted by CargoOfDarkness View Post
    Good!
    I am total noob, where can I change it?
    Err.. not that easy.

    I mean it is easy, but the values are is source code - you'd have to recompile the game. Defines are in "config_campaigns.h".

  8. #18
    Fly
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    53

    Default Re: can't play custom multiplayer maps

    Quote Originally Posted by mefistotelis View Post
    Err.. not that easy.

    I mean it is easy, but the values are is source code - you'd have to recompile the game. Defines are in "config_campaigns.h".
    lol, okay I think I wait for your version release haha - just good to know that it IS possible to make more than 50 multiplayer levels! Thanks.

Similar Threads

  1. MeinCookie's Maps
    By MeinCookie in forum DK2 Maps
    Replies: 148
    Last Post: January 2nd, 2021, 16:54
  2. Multiplayer maps
    By Mothrayas in forum KeeperFX
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: January 3rd, 2010, 18:24
  3. How to play downloaded Maps in DK1?
    By Monsterbaby in forum Dungeon Keeper 1
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: November 23rd, 2009, 21:20
  4. How to play other maps
    By psycopath in forum DK1 Mapmaking
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: November 15th, 2009, 14:57
  5. Cant play created maps
    By Hapuga in forum DK2 Mapmaking
    Replies: 38
    Last Post: September 19th, 2009, 23:49

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •